Crofton Diving Corporation has a rich history of service to the Port of Hampton Roads and its supporting industries.
After serving in the Navy during World War II, Juan F. Crofton returned to Hampton Roads and went to work as a diver for Submarine Engineering Company before deciding, in June 1949, to start a business with a friend, Ernest “Duke” Morris. Together, Juan Crofton and Duke Morris purchased the 50-foot wooden workboat, the Cromo, so named because Juan won the toss of a coin. Crofton-Morris Divers worked Hampton Roads for 19 years. In 1968 Duke decided to leave the diving business and Crofton Diving Corporation was born.
Setting up shop on the Norfolk waterfront, Crofton Diving Corporation worked for every shipyard in the area in addition to serving the numerous utilities and industries that kept the area thriving. In 1984, Crofton Diving Corporation expanded its services with the formation of Crofton Construction Services, a full-service marine construction firm. By 1986, and with the addition of Crofton Construction Services, the Corporation had grown out of its half-acre facility and moved across the river to Portsmouth and a 7 acre facility with 9000 square feet of office and warehouse space. It is from here that Crofton Diving Corporation and Crofton Construction Services continue to provide the same quality service that Juan and Duke provided starting in 1949.